Making an open source drying device -- help us get it right

Introduction first: I am a software engineer, and I am teaming up with an electric engineer.
We want to build a cabinet where you place your wet buds, and that it will dry them AND cure them.
The closest thing on the market at the moment is the pricey Cannatrol.
Our idea is to make something like the CoolCure: you get an existing sealed cabinet, and then you make holes in it and place the components (the vent, the peltier cooling element, etc) in the holes. We will release all circuits, wiring, and 3D files to print the thing yourself.

We need GOOD ideas, GOOD hints, and help. The result will only be good if we get good help. I think the Cannatrol only has a Peltier cooling system. So, I am very confused in that how they manage to target humidity and temperature at the same time. I also don’t want to create a clone of an existing product, but something BETTER.

Anyone here who can help with knowledge, ideas, hints, dos and donts?

3 Likes

Reply to myself: awesome explanation of what Cannatrol does: Cannatrol cool cure? Its a cigar fridge! - #6 by dbrn32

1 Like

When you’re reducing temperature, humidity also goes down with temperature, until you reach dew point, then condensation happens.
When condensation occurs, moisture is removed from the air, reducing humidity.

A refrigerator is similar to the cannatrol, and members have dried inside their fridges for better temperature and humidity control.

2 Likes

OK but as far as I know the peltier cooler will BOTH dehumidify AND make cold at the same time. You can’t have one and not the other. So, how does it target a higher target humidity with a COOLER target temperature?

2 Likes

What an interesting project, I too think its gross that the cannatrol is so much for a glorified wine fridge. A buddy and I have been working on a similar device for drying hash.

2 Likes