LJ’s Journal of delicious canna babies

I just accidentally deleted my first attempt at this :imp: so I will keep this one brief. I’m very new to growing, this is my third canna baby, a GDP photo. I have her in Canna Terra Professional soil. I’m growing in a laundry space in a tiny 42 sq metre city apartment so it’s one at a time at this stage.

I decided to journal this at @NUG61’s suggestion and I would appreciate your comments and advice.

She came out of that seed like a freight train and hasn’t looked back since.

First week: I just gave her pHed water for the first two weeks then started feeding Aptus nutes. Base plus CalMag. I have plenty of perlite and DE in the soil too.

Uploading: 6BF09259-9DB6-466F-82F5-3AC305F867ED.jpeg…
Uploading: 097E0EC8-7F92-41B8-9421-DDBFCA604AC4.jpeg…

Week 5: she’s extremely robust and thirsty. Here she is in a 3 gallon fabric pot.

Week 8: you can see I have hardly removed any foliage but the air circ is good and this is the least humid time of the year here in south eastern Australia. Temp in the tent is 22-24 and RH around 55. I have just put her in the 7 gallon pot. I hadn’t factored in how heavy she would be as my first two plants were in 1 and 2 gallon pots that I can easily lift in and out of the tent. I can barely lift this so I have a platform with a drainage system built in arriving this week. Tomorrow I hope :smiling_face_with_three_hearts: I have just started bending some branches down with these plastic clip thingies as I am about out of height space for the light.

Uploading: 587870D4-4DD5-445F-B35F-D80EC4CA72E7.jpeg…
Uploading: 74C8EF99-C9A2-4673-8CF1-C965AC5B47EE.jpeg…
Uploading: 3963D1AC-6D9F-4962-ACF1-EC64957C4C0B.jpeg…
Uploading: 6D90AE7E-6E0A-4ED4-BD55-6036B35CEE5D.jpeg…
Uploading: 5F1C246E-6138-4B1B-829D-D222D718752E.jpeg…

Here is my outdoor garden where I am trying to create a balanced eco space to attract all the good bugs that eat things like fungus gnats and spider mites :wink: