Stretching/lightning distance

I have a 1000W Led Grow Light 3x3ft Coverage how far should I keep it from my seedlings? I just moved it closer today from about 20inchs away to about 6 inches away because it seemed like they were starting to stretch a little? Was this the right move? I’m new this is my first time growing so any help is truly appreciated! Thanks. :blush:

1 Like

Need to know a little more about the light it’s probably not truly a thousand Watts if it’s Amazon it’s probably like a hundred so a little more about the light and then we can help

This is the light and it is from Amazon.

Can you tell now?

It’s a 100w light , depending on how much heat it gives off , 18”-24” is the right distance for Veg. I would think about getting a better light for flower.

3 Likes

It doesn’t give off hardly any heat. So right now in the seedling stage it should be 18-24inches away?

Seedling don’t need much light , your plant don’t need much light all the way up to flower. That light is good for one plant in flower. @dbrn32 is the light pro at ILGM

1 Like

Okay so I need to buy a new light for flowering stage. Any recommendations in a 110$ price range?

Do you think this will do? For 2 plants flowering? Thanks for your help!

2 things you don’t cheap out on is PH meter and lights . Either you pay now or you pay more later. Let me get @dbrn32 in on the conversation. You need a minimum of 50 true watts per square ft. @Covertgrower could you chime in

3 Likes

When I started they talked me into getting HLG lights and I have been using them ever since. HLG are premium lights . With a high price tag . I know there are lights out there with comparable output at a better price.

2 Likes

We all had problems buying lights at first

If you can scrape $200 HLG has a true 200w light that will finish the job for you. I believe they have them on sail, also, I’m not sure what the coupon code is. Top of the line and it has a 2x2 flower footprint.