Leggy or root pushing out?

Noob grower, need help with 2nd attempt at seedlings. My first grow of 3 Skywalker seeds germinated well but died to overwatering. I germinated an OG Kush, planted in 70% Coir, 30% Perlite soil, no amendments. The plants are in a 4x4 tent, 77% humidity, 77F, LED light 160 PPFD. I can increase PPFD if warranted.

The photo below is the OG Kush is in day 3. It appears that the root is pushing the plant out of the media.

Being a noob, I have zero experience and the gained knowledge from this forum and on line sources. Looking for any feedback to help me through this critical stage.

Thank you in advance for your input. And Merry Christmas!

2 Likes

Just cover the root up and keep a dome on the sprout. It should be fine.

10 Likes

Thanks, I just added some media atop the root. I opted not to apply a humidity dome tonight as I’m maintaining 77% humidity. What to you think?

I can fashion a dome if you insist but then how to I maintain moisture in the dome. Spray the inside of the Dome? Other?

Thanks.

3 Likes

Hey @Noob3 so you are basically running a Hydroponic grow. There are zero mutes in your mix unless you’ve added something.
Big question is….? What nutrient line are you going to be using?

I would recommend using a root additive at this point, I use GH RapidStart. Then I also use a Beneficial Microbe as well to keep the root rot at bay to stave off roots dampening, I use HYDROGUARD.

I would also increase PPFD to 300 for seedlings. Try not to let them dry out completely as Coco coir will need daily, later on more than daily, watering.

A trick is to gently lift your pot to check how much water you have.