New Grower - Temp Setup - Advice on What to do Post-Seedling

Hey Everyone!

I’m totally new at this and the only other plant I’ve owned was a small cactus. It died - lol - because I forgot to water it in college. Let’s hope I’m beyond that now. Here is my temporary setup for 2 seedlings and I’m hoping for advice on what the must haves are for optimal success. If I leave out something important, let me know and I’ll try to supplement the post.

Anyways, I’m using auto-flower OG kush seeds and my initial setup is the medium a-pot-for-pot kit. Right now, my soil has been setting for about a week and my seedlings are chilling on the soil in the pot.

The first seedling I germinated was using the jiffy pop in the kit and the seed was planted after a tail popped out after about 24-hours in dark spring water.

The second seed germinated took closer to 72-hours to sprout a tail. I put it in soil from my pot that I put into a small plastic cup.

Both seedlings sprouted within a few days. I had to poke around for the first one. I didn’t see the sprout and saw that it sunk too far in the jiffy pop. I got it free and it stretched out after getting some light.

Here are some photos for your reference. For scale, I just used a penny because they are very young. The first one was put in soil about 8-days ago. The second one was only planted about 3-days ago and just broke soil this morning.

2nd Seedling

1st Seedling

My first concern was just if I initially planted correctly and am unsure about seedling care. I read you could use indoor lights 24-hours/day with auto-flower and that’s what I’ve done so far. However, I have a timer I can use to put my lights on and a similar timer on a grow lamp.

I’ve had one led light strip turned on and suspended about 20” above the seedlings (red/purple/pinkish light). The light is a 10W 2-foot grow light. I am only using one now, but there are 6 of these lights in total (60W).