Curing issues or growing issues?

Hi, so I’m new to growing but have successfully pulled off 2 grows in the last year, with the third around the corner.

The problem is, I have grown several different strains that all look and smell the same, and it’s not really a good smell.

Should I be able to smell or taste differences between strains?

Now there were a couple buds I dropped in the floor behind the tent, which when found was obviously crispy but had that typical smell I thought I would get.

So I cured the first time by hanging them upside down until the smallest branches were brittle enough to break off. This first time I wet trimmed. After that they went into jars with humidity packs and sensors and were burped several times a day. That’s been 6+ months ago. Smells like a spice like old oregano or something.

2nd time, I did the same but did my best to let them hang dry longer, with temps and humidity around 65F and 55-60% so I didn’t over dry them.

These I dry trimmed, SO much easier. They do smell a bit better, and don’t have as much of a smell like the first batch and comes closer to what you would expect, but still it’s not right.

I did not flush any of these and they were soil grown without organic materials.

Is it because I didn’t flush them?

First thing im wondering is how long are you flowering these plants?

3 Likes

Drying and curing are big factors in taste. A slow dry is essential. 60F and 60% humidity. If I dry in the summer, I also have a hard time getting below 65F…so I up the humidity a little to slow the dry. should take 7 - 14 days. I also sweat the buds before curing, (put in grocery bags and let them all stabilize at the same moisture content)

Curing is where the smells and tastes really develop. This should be 68F and 62% humidity. You only need to burp until the humidity stabilizes. I use Grove bags since it skips this step

I have not noticed a difference if I flush or not.

4 Likes