Vermicomposting?

Ive been researching about vermicomposting and worm farming. Does anyone else here already do this? Im trying to understand the ph buffer aspect of worm castings. Im ultimately wanting to create my own supersoil ( living soil ) so i can start saving a little $$ to add to my grow in different aspects. I want to create a soil that i only have to top dress and water.

3 Likes

I used to and it works well but its just easier to buy some and takes less room

3 Likes

I think @CurrDogg420, has a lot of knowledge about this, and I think he is the one who was feeding his old root balls to the worms.

4 Likes

@Medicineman33 im going to reap the benefits of both the castings and the breeding of worms. Theres not very many folks in my area who sell fresh castings and tea. Not to mention theres a bunch of tackle stores and a few pet stores ive spoken with who would be interested in local worms. Im also looking into breeding mealworms too.

3 Likes

I am an organic farmer, and I have used vermiculture often. It is a great way to make fertile soil.

3 Likes

Yes i liked fresh castings and mushroom compost as soil amendments

3 Likes

@OrganicFarmer do you just topdress and go ? Do you ph or check ppm at all? Indoor or outdoor ? Sorry for pestering folks, i just need knowledge and reading through a bunch of commercial bs wastes ny time. Id rather hear from experience.

2 Likes

I mixed into soil and top dressed if necessary if i was doing a long veg i then fed bloom nutes

2 Likes

Some of my plants start indoors [controlled lighting, ventilation, and temps] and some of my plants are strictly outdoors. Plant species that are more difficult to germinate, I only do indoors. Or for when I want to get an early start, I start indoors. I generally topdress with worm castings. I always check pH.

1 Like