Little Intro and 1st Coco Coir Grow Plan

Hi(gh) happy people,

I am a forum newbie and I have to say, there are a lot of awesome folks on here sharing their wealth of knowledge in such a humanistic way - I wish the entire world was full of happy smokers and growers and I’m grateful to learn so much.

I have grown autoflower seeds in soil once before and it was ok, nothing spectacular. A year later I had a decision to make - either gift away my tent (Vivosun 36"x20"x63") and light (Mars Hydro TS 600W LED) or start using it again and I have excitedly decided to use it again.

This time around I plan on using coco coir - brick bought from Amazon that I plan on soaking in a gallon of water with GH cal mag in 5 gallon fabric pots. One brick will yield enough for two 5 gallon fabric pot planters and that’s great since I plan on only growing two girls at a time. I ordered Skywalker OG feminized seeds from ILGM and they should arrive Monday, yay! I intend to use GH FloraMicro FloraGrow FloraBloom nutrients at a a reduced strength until the girls get a bit older, perhaps a month?

I have a few questions for the community :slight_smile:

I have GH pH up and down and intend to use it to get water pH’d correctly. I understand that I will probably have to water about every day, but would it be ok to use tap water or must I use bottled distilled? (I live in Chicago where we have hard water btw).

From the posts I have read, it is smart to start feeding right away from seedling at the reduced strength, would most agree with this?

During my first grow I used solo cups for seedlings, but I was very clumsy and ruined a couple babies :frowning: Is planting seedlings in the 5 gallon fabric pots advisable - for coco coir at least? I understand that in soil the consensus is that it is growers preference.

I also got the impression from the posts I’ve read that perhaps I need a second light set up given the size of my tent - any thoughts or suggestions on this?