Gnats in my grow tent

Hi all,
Ive discovered a few gnats in my tent, three to be precise. Ive ordered capt jacks neem spay, DE, and mosquito bits to get rid of them. My question is will that take care of all of them? I dont think its from overwatering but im a noob so i dont know, I wait until my soils completely dry before watering again, they get a gallon each probably every three to four days and they are in 5 gallon pots. Plants look great, nice and healthy but ive also read that overly saturated soil is a top culprit. They are going into flower next week and i dont wanna mess around with bugs so im trying to cover all bases and kill them all. Any advice is deeply appreciated!

2 Likes

Neem oil shouldn’t be used during flowering, as it leaves a residue. Capt. Jack’s Deadbug is a good option. Capt Jack’s Deadbug or diatomaceous earth are good options for controlling gnats.

All that said, gnats are a symptom of overwatering. Let your soil dry out btw waterings.

Welcome to the forum.

9 Likes

I had those pests first grow and Midwest guys suggestion is right on. He gave me that advice over a year ago and my pest were soon gone. They didn’t hurt anything but they bugged me so to speak. Good luck happy growing

3 Likes

You got the bases covered. I’m using mosquito bits as we speak. I’ve had gnats sense I started Growin 6 years ago. I’m on my second dose of three. I’ll let you know how it works out. The problem isn’t the gnat it’s the larvae that eat your roots. When you see the gnat the damage he’s gonna do is already done. So make sure you do all three doses to stop the life cycle. You don’t have flowers yet so get them now. :v::call_me_hand:

2 Likes

Good advice given already. A couple small things you might want to add in to help: