Bama's Happy Little Grow

Hello Resident Experts.
I’ve been growing for a few years now and I’ve always grown in Coco Coir (Mother Earth Coir with Perilite) in 5 gallon cloth pots. I’ve a pretty good run with that. I started with Photos and moved over to Auto’s. I run Spider Farmer SF-1000 (6) lights and I use Canna Coco nutrients.

I want to try my hand at Hydro.

I’m building my setup instead of buying it premade. I’m going to start with one/two plants and learn a little on them.

Setup will be the following:
1-25 gallon tote with 2 plants in 6 inch grid pots
1-25 gallon reservoir with 800 gph pump.
Bubble in the reservoir and two in the grow tank.
Jack’s 321 nutrients.
Plants will be Gelato and Zkittlez Auto’s from ILGM.

The hardware seems pretty straight forward. I think I have that down and will learn from my mistakes.

My grow room is a 10x12 room built in the basement. Temps and humidity are very easily controlled with my dehumidifier and a/c. I also have two 6 inch exhaust fans with charcoal scrubbers that changes the air in the room constantly. I have 10 foot ceilings in the basement so there is a ton of room to grow.

I understand how to mix the nutrients and what all needs to be done there, initially.

But this is where I have the most concern.

1 - How do I know what nutrients need to be added when topping off the water?
2 - Do I have to change the water? How often? Why can’t I run the same water thru the entire grow?
3 - I think I need a Hydro Mentor?? Please??

I take criticism very well and I’m ready to learn the next evolution of my grow.

Thanks.

10 Likes

Welcome to the community. Im coco first year grower interested in next step.

I think @ThatHydroCouple might be able to help with some of your questions.

Welcome aboard

5 Likes