Great White beneficial bacteria in DWC

i was having problems with unhealthy roots in my system so I started using Great White. Ive noticed that there is a film of sediment on the bottom of the reservoir which has to be the great white. is this supposed to happen? I’m trying to figure out if this is a sign that by bubbles/aeration is not powerful enough or that i need to install a water pump to circulate the water. my setup is a 50 gallon tote, with probably 40 gallons of water. two 17watt airpumps with two airstones. water temp stays between 63-69f, ph 5.6-5.8, nutrients are floranova grow running around 400 ppm as im in early veg. its probably noteworthy that this is my first hydro grow so i am still learning.

Hey @MacGyverStoner or @latewood can I get a response?

It’s hard to say what the sediment is actually from. I use great white and have not had this problem.

The fact that you started to have unhealthy roots in the first place, even though temps are under control, is probably a good indicator that your dissolved oxygen is too low.

A lot of people don’t believe in using beneficials in DWC because they don’t think you should need to culture bacteria or fungi in the root-zone and it might get out of balance, also the fungi won’t really survive with too much water and no soil to grow on or in. Again, I have not had this problem, but I do use great white very sparingly and I do believe some of the fungi will populate the root mass in the media above the water line.