First breeding project

So, this is my first breeding project. This is a clone from my female Jager that I kept small on purpose (dealing with smell indoors) and I plan on crossing with an unknown strain that I had last year. Male is already gone and pollen is collected.
My main question is, if I want to yield a decent amount (small handful) of seeds, when do I pollinate? I was thinking in about another week or two? April 23rd is when I switched her to 12/12.

3 Likes

Do it now. It’s best to pollinate your plants at the beginning of flower :v::bear:

3 Likes

Will I yield a decent amount of seeds with the buds being so small still? I don’t need a lot, maybe 25ish.

each hair is potentially a seed.

2 Likes

Yeah, I bred using plants in solo cups and had 6” plants that yielded over 100 seeds each, easy.

2 Likes

Yeah, but they are also potential failures. Don’t wanna end up with like 4 seeds haha
This is my first time doing this though, so I’ll take any advice I can get.

douse it with pollen, you will have a lot of seeds as @MattyBear suggested.

2 Likes

Oh wow! That’s way more than I’ll need. I’m glad i decided not to let her get any bigger before switching to flower lol I’ll go ahead and do it tonight then! Thanks!

2 Likes

@MattyBear After pollinating, how long do the seeds require to fully mature?

1 Like

Keep a journal? I’d love to watch!

1 Like

And would these seeds be considered F1? I’m still learning about all this lol

1 Like

My seeds took approx 4 weeks.

1 Like

I can probably make this my journal. Never done it before haha

2 Likes

F1 is the cross of 2 true breading strains. This first generation will show all of the dominate traits. Using hybrids that are not stabilized might not equal an F1, at least as I understand it.

1 Like

I realize these seeds will not be consistent. Some will show more traits of the mother and some the father. I’m just unsure of how’s its all categorized lol